Thank you for visiting

To log out and end your session, click "OK"


Science Diet - Vet's #1 Choice for Their Own Pets



Affenpinscher |  Afghan Hound |  Airedale Terrier |  Akbash Dog |  Akita |  Alaskan Klee Kai |  American Eskimo |  American Pit Bull Terrier |  American Staffordshire Terrier |  American Water Spaniel |  Australian Cattle Dog |  Australian Shepherd |  Basenji |  Basset Hound |  Beagle |  Bearded Collie |  Beauceron |  Bedlington Terrier |  Belgian Malinois |  Belgian Sheepdog |  Bernese Mountain Dog |  Bichon Frise |  Black and Tan Coonhound |  Bloodhound |  Border Collie |  Border Terrier |  Borzoi |  Boston Terrier |  Bouvier des Flandres |  Boxer |  Boykin Spaniel |  Briard |  Brittany |  Brussels Griffon |  Bullmastiff |  Bull Terrier |  Cairn Terrier |  Canadian Eskimo |  Cavalier King Charles Spaniel |  Chesapeake Bay Retriever |  Chihuahua |  Chinese Crested |  Chinook |  Chow Chow |  Clumber Spaniel |  Cocker Spaniel |  Collie or Scottish Collie |  Curly-Coated Retriever |  Dachshund |  Dalmatian |  Dandie Dinmont Terrier |  Doberman |  English Bulldog |  English Cocker Spaniel |  English Foxhound |  English Pointer |  English Setter |  English Springer Spaniel |  Field Spaniel |  Finnish Spitz |  Flat-Coated Retriever |  French Bulldog |  German Shepherd |  German Shorthaired Pointer |  German Wirehaired Pointer |  Giant Schnauzer |  Golden Retriever |  Great Dane |  Great Pyrenees |  Greyhound |  Havanese |  Ibizan Hound |  Irish Setter |  Irish Water Spaniel |  Irish Wolfhound |  Italian Greyhound |  Jack Russell Terrier |  Japanese Chin |  Keeshond |  Komondor |  Kuvasz |  Labrador Retriever |  Leonberger |  Lhasa Apso |  Maltese |  Mastiff |  Miniature Bull Terrier |  Miniature Pinscher |  Miniature Schnauzer |  Newfoundland |  Norfolk Terrier |  Norwegian Elkhound |  Norwich Terrier |  Old English Sheepdog |  Papillon |  Pekingese |  Pharaoh Hound |  Pomeranian |  Poodles |  Portuguese Water Dog |  Pug |  Puli |  Rhodesian Ridgeback |  Rottweiler |  Saint Bernard |  Saluki |  Samoyed |  Schipperke |  Scottish Deerhound |  Scottish Terrier |  Shetland Sheepdog |  Shih Tzu |  Siberian Husky |  Silky Terrier |  Skye Terrier |  Smooth Fox Terrier |  Soft-Coated Wheaten Terrier |  Staffordshire Bull Terrier |  Standard Schnauzer |  Vizsla |  Weimaraner |  Welsh Corgi Cardigan |  Welsh Corgi Pembroke |  Welsh Springer Spaniel |  West Highland White Terrier |  Whippet |  Wire Fox Terrier |  Xolotzcuintli |  Yorkshire Terrier

Most pit bulls are fun, gentle companions and patient with family members. As with all breeds, however, there are bad seeds, and pit bulls are no exception.

     American Pit Bull Terrier At a glance

Size:

Weight Range:

Male: 30-80 lbs.
Female: 30-80 lbs.

Height at Withers:

Male: 19 in.

Female: 18 in.

Expectations:

Exercise Requirements: 20-40 minutes/day
Energy Level: Average
Longevity Range: 11-13 yrs.
Tendency to Drool: Low Tendency to Snore: Low
Tendency to Bark: Low
Tendency to Dig: Low Social/Attention Needs: High

Bred For:

Dog fighting

Coat:

Length: Short
Characteristics: Flat
Colors: Any color
Overall Grooming Needs: Low

Club Recognition:

UKC Classification: Terrier
Prevalence: Common


The American Pit Bull Terrier Dog Breed

The American pit bull is strong and stocky, probably packing more muscles per pound of body weight than any other breed.

Strong and stocky, yet light on its feet, the pit bull may pack more muscles per pound of body weight than any other breed.

It has a low center of gravity, and appears slightly longer than tall. The muscles of the neck and head are especially well developed. The eyes are small, and the ears may be cropped or uncropped (the latter are rose-shaped).

This dog is heavy for its size, weighing about 55 to 70 pounds (25 to 32 kilograms). It stands between 17 and 19 inches. The coat is short and sleek. Any color is acceptable, although coats with more than 80 percent either white, black and tan, or liver are least preferred.

Personality:

Perhaps no other dog has endured the public misperceptions that the pit bull has. The misperceptions go two ways. Some people consider the pit bull to be the safest, gentlest, companion ever created for a toddler. Others consider them to be very aggressive and dangerous. Neither viewpoint is correct, but both viewpoints have some basis.

Most pit bulls are fun-loving companions, gentle and patient with all their family members (with the very likely exception of other pit bulls). As with all breeds, however, there are bad seeds, and pit bulls are no exception.

Pit bulls were bred to be courageous and game, to continue whatever they are doing in the face of adversity. These qualities make them stubborn, tenacious and fearless. They were also bred never to act aggressively toward humans. Whether through poor breeding or socialization, this characteristic has not always been the case. As with any large dog, a pit bulls should be supervised when with children.

Living With:

Life with a pit bull is always an adventure. These are fun-loving dogs that are always up for a game. They must have a vigorous exercise period every day. Although they are tough dogs, they are not cold weather dogs and should be shielded from the elements.

Pit bulls should be obedience trained not only because it is a good bonding activity but also to combat the public's perception of pit bulls as maniacal beasts. Because they are very often not good with other dogs, they should be kept on leash a when around them.

Most bad guys would not be foolish enough to face a pit bull. Half of the pit bulls would lick them to death, and the other half would protect their territory — and the bad guys could never guess which one it was going to be just by looking at them.

History:

The ancient Greek Mollossian war dogs gave rise to several tough strains of dogs, including dogs that specialized as gladiators. By the 16th century, baiting spectacles in which dogs tormented bulls, bears and other animals provided entertainment for people of all classes. When blood sports were outlawed in England in 1835, gamblers instead staged dog fights to avoid detection. Dog fighting favored a smaller, more agile dos. ; Some breed historians believe crosses to smaller terriers were made to create a better dog-fighting dog.

These dogs flourished in both Britain and America. With the advent of dog shows and registries in the late 1800s, the fighting breeds were largely excluded. The AKC refused to endorse dog fighting, so a pit bull owner formed the United Kennel Club (UKC) as an alternative registry that recognized fighting as a legitimate function. The UKC remains to this day a strong registry for the American Pit Bull Terrier, but it no longer endorses dog fighting in any manner. Similarly, the American Dog Breeder's Association was formed in 1909 just to register pit bulls. That organization also no longer condones dog fighting.

Most pit bulls today live as family members, but the breed has gained a bad reputation and been the subject of breed-specific bans, mostly thanks to the irresponsible actions of people who do not know the difference between courage and aggressiveness. The former is a hallmark of the breed; the latter should never be.

Merci de votre visite

Pour fermer votre session, cliquez sur "OK"


Science Diet - Vet's #1 Choice for Their Own Pets



Affenpinscher |  Afghan Hound |  Airedale Terrier |  Akbash Dog |  Akita |  Alaskan Klee Kai |  American Eskimo |  American Pit Bull Terrier |  American Staffordshire Terrier |  American Water Spaniel |  Australian Cattle Dog |  Australian Shepherd |  Basenji |  Basset Hound |  Beagle |  Bearded Collie |  Beauceron |  Bedlington Terrier |  Belgian Malinois |  Belgian Sheepdog |  Bernese Mountain Dog |  Bichon Frise |  Black and Tan Coonhound |  Bloodhound |  Border Collie |  Border Terrier |  Borzoi |  Boston Terrier |  Bouvier des Flandres |  Boxer |  Boykin Spaniel |  Briard |  Brittany |  Brussels Griffon |  Bullmastiff |  Bull Terrier |  Cairn Terrier |  Canadian Eskimo |  Cavalier King Charles Spaniel |  Chesapeake Bay Retriever |  Chihuahua |  Chinese Crested |  Chinook |  Chow Chow |  Clumber Spaniel |  Cocker Spaniel |  Collie or Scottish Collie |  Curly-Coated Retriever |  Dachshund |  Dalmatian |  Dandie Dinmont Terrier |  Doberman |  English Bulldog |  English Cocker Spaniel |  English Foxhound |  English Pointer |  English Setter |  English Springer Spaniel |  Field Spaniel |  Finnish Spitz |  Flat-Coated Retriever |  French Bulldog |  German Shepherd |  German Shorthaired Pointer |  German Wirehaired Pointer |  Giant Schnauzer |  Golden Retriever |  Great Dane |  Great Pyrenees |  Greyhound |  Havanese |  Ibizan Hound |  Irish Setter |  Irish Water Spaniel |  Irish Wolfhound |  Italian Greyhound |  Jack Russell Terrier |  Japanese Chin |  Keeshond |  Komondor |  Kuvasz |  Labrador Retriever |  Leonberger |  Lhasa Apso |  Maltese |  Mastiff |  Miniature Bull Terrier |  Miniature Pinscher |  Miniature Schnauzer |  Newfoundland |  Norfolk Terrier |  Norwegian Elkhound |  Norwich Terrier |  Old English Sheepdog |  Papillon |  Pekingese |  Pharaoh Hound |  Pomeranian |  Poodles |  Portuguese Water Dog |  Pug |  Puli |  Rhodesian Ridgeback |  Rottweiler |  Saint Bernard |  Saluki |  Samoyed |  Schipperke |  Scottish Deerhound |  Scottish Terrier |  Shetland Sheepdog |  Shih Tzu |  Siberian Husky |  Silky Terrier |  Skye Terrier |  Smooth Fox Terrier |  Soft-Coated Wheaten Terrier |  Staffordshire Bull Terrier |  Standard Schnauzer |  Vizsla |  Weimaraner |  Welsh Corgi Cardigan |  Welsh Corgi Pembroke |  Welsh Springer Spaniel |  West Highland White Terrier |  Whippet |  Wire Fox Terrier |  Xolotzcuintli |  Yorkshire Terrier

En général, le pit-bull aime s'amuser et est gentil et patient avec les membres de la famille. Mais il peut aussi être d'une très grande méchanceté.

     Pit-bull Terrier Américain Coup D'œil

Taille:

Poids:

Mâle: 30 à 80 lb
Femelle: 30 à 80 lb

Taille au garrot:

Mâle: 19 po

Femelle: 18 po

Attentes réalistes:

Besoin d'exercice: 20 à 40 minutes par jour
Niveau d'énergie: Moyen
Espérance de vie: 11 à 13 ans
Tendance à baver: Faible Tendance à ronfler: Faible
Tendance à aboyer: Faible
Tendance à creuser: Faible Besoin de compagnie/d'attention: Élevé

Utilités:

Combat de chiens

Pelage:

Longueur: Court
Caractéristiques: Plat
Couleur: N'importe quelle couleur
Besoin de toilettage: Faible

Reconnaissance officielle:

Classification UKC: Terriers
Popularité: Répandue


The American Pit Bull Terrier Dog Breed

Le pit-bull américain est puissant et trapu et a sans doute une plus grande masse musculaire par livre de poids corporel que toute autre race.

Puissant et trapu tout en ayant la patte légère, le pit-bull a probablement une plus grande masse musculaire par livre de poids corporel que toute autre race.

Il a un faible centre de gravité. La longueur semble être légèrement supérieure à la hauteur. Les muscles du cou et de la tête sont particulièrement bien développés. Il a de petits yeux, et ses oreilles peuvent être taillées ou non taillées (si elles sont non taillées, elles sont en rose).

Ce chien est lourd compte tenu de sa taille, son poids se situant entre environ 55 et 70 lb (25 et 32 kg). Il mesure entre 17 et 19 po. Le pelage est court et lustré. Toutes les couleurs sont admises, bien qu'un pelage à 80 % blanc/noir/feu/foie (marron) soit le moins recherché.

Personnalité:

Aucun autre chien n'est sans doute autant méconnu du public que le pit-bull. Les idées fausses qui circulent à son sujet sont diamétralement opposées. Certains considèrent le pit-bull comme le compagnon le plus sûr et le plus gentil qui soit pour un bambin. En revanche, d'autres croient qu'il est l'incarnation du mal. Ces deux interprétations sont fausses, mais ne sont pas dénuées de fondement.

La plupart des pit-bulls aiment s'amuser et sont gentils et patients avec tous les membres de la famille (exception faite des autres membres de la race). Cependant, comme dans toutes les races, certains chiens ont un mauvais comportement. En pareil cas, le mot « mauvais » est vraiment un euphémisme.

Le pit-bull est un chien courageux et audacieux qui avance malgré l'adversité. Ces qualités, qui sont sa raison d'être, font de lui un chien entêté et tenace qui n'a peur de rien. En créant cette race, on voulait aussi engendrer un chien qui ne se montrerait jamais agressif envers les humains. Toutefois, il n'en a pas toujours été ainsi. Cette agressivité envers nous est attribuable à de mauvais croisements ou à une socialisation inadéquate. Un pit-bull, à l'instar de tous les gros chiens, ne devrait jamais être laissé sans surveillance avec des enfants.

Vie Au Quotidien:

La vie avec un pit-bull est toujours fertile en rebondissements. C'est un chien qui aime s'amuser et qui est toujours prêt à jouer. Il faut prévoir une séance quotidienne d'exercice vigoureux. S'il est robuste, le pit-bull n'est cependant pas adapté au froid et doit être protégé en conséquence.

Il faut apprendre au pit-bull à obéir, non seulement pour tisser des liens affectifs avec lui, mais également pour lui faire perdre sa réputation de bête féroce répandue au sein de la population. Étant donné qu'il a généralement un comportement souvent belliqueux envers les autres chiens, on doit le garder en laisse s'il est susceptible d'être en contact avec d'autres chiens.

La plupart des bandits ne seraient pas assez stupides pour affronter un pit-bull. Deux scénarios sont possibles : le pit-bull les taillerait en pièces ou protégerait son territoire. Le bandit ne pourrait jamais savoir à quelle catégorie de pit-bull il a affaire d'un simple regard.

Historique:

Les chiens guerriers molossiens de la Grèce antique sont les ancêtres de plusieurs races canines robustes, dont certaines étaient élevées pour les combats de gladiateurs. Au XVIe siècle, les chiens s'attaquaient dans l'arène à des taureaux, des ours et d'autres animaux pour le plus grand plaisir d'une foule où toutes les classes sociales se mêlaient. Lorsque les combats à mort ont été interdits en Angleterre en 1835, les parieurs ont organisé des combats de chiens pour poursuivre leurs activités à l'insu des autorités. Un chien plus petit et plus agile étant préférable pour ces combats, certains historiens des races croient que des croisements visant à engendrer des terriers de plus petite taille ont été effectués afin de combler ce besoin.

Ces chiens sont devenus très populaires en Grande-Bretagne et aux États-Unis. Cependant, les races de combat ont été exclues pour la plupart des expositions et des registres canins, apparus à la fin du XIXe siècle. L'AKC ayant refusé de cautionner les combats de chiens, un propriétaire de pit-bull a formé l'United Kennel Club (UKC), qui reconnaissait le combat comme une vocation légitime. Aujourd'hui encore, l'UKC demeure un important registre pour le pit-bull terrier américain, mais n'avalise plus les combats de chiens. De même, l'American Dog Breeder's Association a été créée en 1909 dans le seul but d'enregistrer les pit-bulls. Cette organisation a elle aussi retiré son appui aux combats de chiens.

De nos jours, la plupart des pit-bulls sont des compagnons familiaux. En revanche, cette race a mauvaise réputation et a été frappée d'interdictions, en grande partie en raison des actions irresponsables de personnes qui confondent courage et agressivité. Le courage est le trait distinctif du pit-bull alors que l'agressivité ne devrait jamais être associée à ce chien.